Protection against wireless cracking

Data that travels over the air and how to protect (or decipher) it

Protection against wireless cracking

Post by Zelth on Sun Oct 12, 2008 9:07 pm
([msg=13622]see Protection against wireless cracking[/msg])

Many topics here discuss how to crack a wireless network. But I would like to know how to protect myself against such attacks. Any help? :D
Z~Epsilon
Newbie Programmer
Learned: HTML, XHTML, CSS
Learning: PHP, C++
Zelth
Poster
Poster

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Protection against wireless cracking

Post by hakk3d on Sun Oct 12, 2008 11:15 pm
([msg=13625]see Re: Protection against wireless cracking[/msg])

Have a good pass and hopefully the noobs wont be able to crack it, idk lol...
Change it daily?
Don't make it guessable, example: kahugafugena (yes I did just make that up)

Don't use a wireless router? That's all I can suggest, I'm not very good with networking..... just PHP :P
ToCode || !ToCode
hakk3d
New User
New User

Post by myhexhax on Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:11 pm
([msg=13652]see Re: Protection against wireless cracking[/msg])

freeRADIUS with LDAP or some other authentication, or look into Cisco's wireless security hardware.. They had a demo of it at my tech expo, and it's pretty intense.

Don't listen to people that say hide your SSID or MAC filtering, both are easily overcome (SSID's are rebroadcast on 'improperly' configured cards, MAC spoofing, etc..) Also disabling DHCP makes it inconvenient for users on your network and is also not a measure of security..
gniripsni ewa si rehte eht morf cisum siht
myhexhax
Poster
Poster

Post by noOneSpecial on Wed May 06, 2009 2:08 pm
([msg=23269]see Re: Protection against wireless cracking[/msg])

WPA would be a good solution. try to avoid to use TKIP (use AES if possible). Also like hakk3d mentioned : a good long password will help as well. try to mix some additional special characters, ex : myPanDa12Goes*!45&tiMeSH(OME)@T