Zenmap (network scanner)

Data that travels over the air and how to protect (or decipher) it

Zenmap (network scanner)

Post by T3E on Wed Oct 16, 2013 3:43 am
([msg=77690]see Zenmap (network scanner)[/msg])

Hello folks,

I hope I found myself in the right section:

I encounter a problem with Zenmap. It worked just find on my normal account, but on "root" I have this nasty language bug:

Image

According to nmap.org it is possible to change the language like that:
Image

But since I am an unexperienced user, changing the "environment" with my root access to English is bothering me since I somehow fear that this will have an impact on my computer, not only on Zenmap.

I hope someone is familiar with the bug and if I am wrong here, I wouldnt mind moving the thread to the right place :>

Cheers
T3E
New User
New User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 3:35 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Zenmap (network scanner)

Post by Amazingred on Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:14 am
([msg=77691]see Re: Zenmap (network scanner)[/msg])

try this:
after you have started the interface do this:
$ export LANG="en_US.UTF-8"
There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't.
User avatar
Amazingred
Experienced User
Experienced User
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:10 pm
Location: Wayyyyyy out there
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Zenmap (network scanner)

Post by T3E on Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:42 am
([msg=77692]see Re: Zenmap (network scanner)[/msg])

Amazingred wrote:try this:
after you have started the interface do this:
$ export LANG="en_US.UTF-8"

In the regular terminal where I could use/control nmap or with X11? X11 doesnt recogize anything related to nmap.

I also tried both, invalid commands.

root# nmap $export LANG="en_US.UTF-8"

Starting Nmap 6.40 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2013-10-16 12:40 CEST
Failed to resolve "LANG=en_US.UTF-8".

Would appreciate if you could go more into detail, even tho I am glad that somebody replied.

Cheers
T3E
New User
New User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 3:35 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Zenmap (network scanner)

Post by Amazingred on Wed Oct 16, 2013 6:59 am
([msg=77693]see Re: Zenmap (network scanner)[/msg])

Oh wait. Please ignore my previous post.

In bash try this:

Code: Select all
LANG=C ./zenmap


This should change the LANG environmental variable to C (which is the default as set by the system) This setting usually works more often than LANG=en. The LANG var will only be altered for the invokation of the ./zenmap part of the command.
There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't.
User avatar
Amazingred
Experienced User
Experienced User
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:10 pm
Location: Wayyyyyy out there
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Zenmap (network scanner)

Post by T3E on Wed Oct 16, 2013 10:32 am
([msg=77700]see Re: Zenmap (network scanner)[/msg])

Not sure if I am experienced enough to do it right, but something is wrong

Code: Select all
The30Element:~ root# LANG=C ./zenmap
-sh: ./zenmap: No such file or directory
The30Element:~ root# LANG=C .zenmap
-sh: .zenmap: command not found
The30Element:~ root# which bash
/bin/bash
The30Element:~ root#


I thought removing the Slash would help (since I wouldnt be able to access it either with the Slash). It doesnt.

Also, am I in the right Directory?
Code: Select all
The30Element:~ root# ls
.CFUserTextEncoding   .zenmap         Movies
.DS_Store      .zenmap-etc      Music
.Trash         Desktop         Pictures
.forward      Documents      Public
.gnupg         Downloads
.sh_history      Library
The30Element:~ root#
T3E
New User
New User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 3:35 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Zenmap (network scanner)

Post by Amazingred on Wed Oct 16, 2013 10:52 am
([msg=77702]see Re: Zenmap (network scanner)[/msg])

It has nothing to do with not being experienced enough. First of all, I'm a crappy tutor lol. And second I'm trying to do this from memory since I'm stuck at work on a windows machine. lol

You'll need the directory containing zenmap. I think its /usr/local/bin

Just cd WHATEVERDIRECTORYHERE and then try try again.
There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't.
User avatar
Amazingred
Experienced User
Experienced User
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:10 pm
Location: Wayyyyyy out there
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Zenmap (network scanner)

Post by LoGiCaL__ on Sat Oct 19, 2013 12:04 pm
([msg=77754]see Re: Zenmap (network scanner)[/msg])

@OP Have you tried just using nmap from the command line?
User avatar
LoGiCaL__
Addict
Addict
 
Posts: 1061
Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 12:33 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)



Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests