Just starting: IDE for C on Mac?

Just starting: IDE for C on Mac?

Post by Acedian on Wed Jun 05, 2013 2:24 am
([msg=75956]see Just starting: IDE for C on Mac?[/msg])

So I downloaded Eclipse and downloaded the C/C++ extension. However, when I went to start a project in C an error window popped up. I know that I can use Xcode and Terminal to build C projects; however, I would prefer to use an IDE where I can compile and execute programs all in one place.

Admittedly, I have not looked into many other IDEs aside from Xcode and Eclipse. I am fairly new to programming (I have very limited experience with Python), but would like to build up my skill set as a programmer. Any recommendations would be useful. Thanks in advance.
Acedian
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Just starting: IDE for C on Mac?

Post by DrRoach on Wed Jun 05, 2013 4:34 am
([msg=75957]see Re: Just starting: IDE for C on Mac?[/msg])

It may be because you don't have the GNU maybe?
DrRoach
Poster
Poster

Post by fashizzlepop on Wed Jun 05, 2013 12:15 pm
([msg=75960]see Re: Just starting: IDE for C on Mac?[/msg])

What's the error? Eclipse is your best bet.
The glass is neither half-full nor half-empty; it's merely twice as big as it needs to be.
fashizzlepop
Developer
Developer

Post by centip3de on Wed Jun 05, 2013 1:31 pm
([msg=75963]see Re: Just starting: IDE for C on Mac?[/msg])

Another suggestion is to use Code::Blocks, a dedicated C/C++ IDE that is cross-platform. It also has a simple binary install for Mac OS X if you don't want to do it the fun hard way.
Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning. -Rick Cook
centip3de

Post by Acedian on Sun Jun 09, 2013 3:15 pm
([msg=76053]see Re: Just starting: IDE for C on Mac?[/msg])

DrRoach wrote:It may be because you don't have the GNU maybe?